Skip to content
August 27, 2012 / mummaVegas

Date Night

I’ve completely forgotten how cool I thought BROS were back in the day. I had a conversation recently with a fellow 90s child about that outrageous hit When will I be Famous? and it all came flooding back to me: how much I deeply enjoyed those hours crouched over my double tape-decked boom box rote-learning the lyrics and tween-salivating over the “non-brother, must be a best mate” Craig, because I didn’t have a thing for blondes when I was eleven. There was a lot I didn’t understand about BROS, other than their music made me happy.

A similar renaissance occurred the other night: it appeared I’d also forgotten how cool Date Night was. In the last nine months, I’ve thought that any night that allows me to string more than five hours of uninterrupted sleep together counted as the greatest night of my life (sorry, HB). Date night, which these days includes a two week negotiation with a babysitting agency, intense saving up for the meal and the childcare, and then deciding it isn’t appropriate for you both to not be the designated driver, just hadn’t had the same ring to it in recent months. There is a lot I don’t understand about this new incarnation of Date Night, only that when we have managed to pull one off, I inevitably fall asleep at the menu, and I end up talking about the baby all night. I feel like a bad date these days!

 

That was until I fell into the good fortune of a couple of great tickets to a true spectacle: OVO by Cirque du Soleil. Date Night rules again!

The city of BrisVegas was lucky enough to be the premier city for the latest visual feast by the French-Canadian masterminds, Cirque du Soleil. OVO is an exploration in the miniature but heavily detailed world of the bug and when a “guest egg” arrives in Bug City care of a mischievous delivery-bug, we witness just how much excitement, good times and great classic hits Date Night can deliver when it’s teamed with a world of larvae, lady beetles, and lycra.

There is only a WEEK left to jump on board the Date Train and get your mind warped at the logisitical difficulty of a one-armed handstand on a totem-tennis pole, little ant-ladies playing kiwi fruit foot ballet in the midst of an NFL-style jumping weave thingy, and an excellent example of thinking outside the square and using your bed mattress to launch yourself onto your in-home 20-metre rock climbing wall. Just to name a few. Get along to the final days of Cirque du Soleil, OVO and then do what I intend to do: enrol my 9 month old in rhythmic gymnastics behind Hubby’s back. I know Boy Wonder has it in him!

OVO leaves BrisVegas September 3 – so GO! Date Night awaits you!

http://www.cirquedusoleil.com/en/shows/ovo/tickets.aspx

Here’s to lycra and trampolining on this and all future Date Nights,

mV xo

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jackie Walsh / Aug 27 2012 12:32 pm

    You Rock MumnaV ….

    Strangely I was thinking about your next post…. Always makes me smile reading about your latest find or adventure. I admire that in you!!

    I’m getting all soft of late will email later. Hope the family is feeling better xx

    Sent from my iPhone

    • mummaVegas / Aug 27 2012 12:35 pm

      It’s funny. You’re my yardstick. Email at will always great hearin from you! Family plague continues. My poor patents have it now. Don’t come visit. X

  2. mummaVegas / Aug 28 2012 11:09 pm

    Reblogged this on mummavegas and commented:

    The images work SO much better as a slideshow

Leave a Reply

