Skip to content
August 29, 2012 / mummaVegas

An Ode to the Sunday Snuggle

Things are shifting at a lightning (and rather uncomfortable) pace in the House of mV!

I will miss my quiet, peaceful baby snuggles….!

AN ODE TO THE SUNDAY SNUGGLE

No one warned me that baby bed snuggles are numbered…

I thought lie-ins with my son would remain unencumbered!

But alas, as you’ve grown, your inquistion has too, and so

Here is my Ode to the Snuggles I knew.

Sunday lie-ins are now a thing of the past,

You’ve started to stumble and crawl, shuffle and grasp.

My hair is your anchor as you clamber and pull,

Your little footsies don’t notice that my bladder is full!

This morning you used my eye-socket to launch,

And you’ve found a good foot-hold in my post-pregnancy paunch.

I wince in silent agony as you grip at my chest,

For you’ve crippled my nipple on your adventurous quest!

Across pillows and doonas you pioneer your new path,

That you cover with milk, snot and drool like a bath.

Soft furnishings are placed round the bed like a hedge,

As you gravitate dangerously close to the edge.

There is no use us trying to lie quiet and still,

You’ve discovered my water glass, so we clean up the spill.

Oh! There’s that new “voice” you’ve discovered,

Your fever-pitch squeal will keep our social life covered.

Those days of soft breathing, and cuddles are past,

It’s time to get up now – let’s go have a blast!

mV xo

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Aug 29 2012 12:08 am

    Well done! Summed up nicely 😀 Those days are certainly numbered!
    I especially like “And you’ve found a good foot-hold in my post-pregnancy paunch”
    The joys of bearing kiddies!
    Love reading your blogs, they always put a smile on my dial my xo

    • mummaVegas / Aug 29 2012 12:10 am

      I know. It’s painful! In the most joyous way. I’ve almost given them up completely. 🙂

  2. Astrida Scoble / Aug 29 2012 7:05 am

    This is hilarious!!!! We are in stitches. You MUST publish this further. We live it. It’s a keeper in ” “favourites”

  3. melitanlife / Aug 29 2012 9:38 am

    hilarious!! makes me want one even more… keep your eye out for postman pat 😉

  4. Maddi / Aug 29 2012 12:48 pm

    So well written! Loved it

  5. BarcaMaloney / Aug 30 2012 7:49 am

    LOVE IT! So clever. x

  6. lottenpip / Sep 7 2012 3:06 am

    Love

Leave a Reply

